My Life’s Mix

Image

To me, music has an almost magical quality. There are numerous songs that can lift my soul, even when the storm rages on around me, that can bring me back to a place of goodness and peace. I have memories in music, millions of little moments that come flooding back with a single tune. In the right songs, I can see my past, my present or hopes for my future.

Music is one of my absolute favorite things about life. When I was a kid, I would sit by the radio, my hand poised perfectly over the ‘record’ button, so I could catch a recent favorite for my latest mixed tape. These days, we don’t make mixed tapes anymore, but if I could compose a playlist, this is the one that would speak the most about me.

FOREVER REIGN – Hillsong (for my love of God)
“I’m running to Your arms, I’m running to Your arms
The riches of Your love will always be enough
Nothing compares to Your embrace
Light of the world forever reign”

THE ANSWER – Josh Turner (for my love of Jesus)
“You’ve got questions, you need directions, arms to hold you for all eternity 
Look no further, because there’s no other, for a lover and an understander… 
He’s an anchor, he’s God’s right hander 
Jesus is the answer”

I HOPE YOU DANCE – LeeAnn Womack (for how I try to live)
“I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,
May you never take one single breath for granted…
You still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance…I hope you dance.”

WORDS – Hawk Nelson (for how I try to speak)
“Let my words be life, let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word unless it points the world back to You
Let the words I say be the sound of Your grace…
I wanna speak Your love, not just another noise
I wanna be Your light. I wanna be Your voice.”

OVERCOMER – Mandisa (for my fight to get through and over my past)
“Whatever it is you may be going through, I know He’s not gonna let it get the best of you…
You’re an overcomer, stay in the fight until the final round
You’re not going under, because God is holding you right now
You might be down for a moment, feeling like it’s hopeless
That’s when He reminds you; that you’re an overcomer.”

NO HURRY – Zac Brown Band (for my desire to simply relax)
“There’s nothing wrong with an old cane fishing pole and the smell of early spring, 
Sit down in a fold-up easy chair on a quiet shady river bank. 
Let the world go on without me, wouldn’t have it any other way 
Cause I ain’t in no hurry today.
I’d be a fool now to worry about all those things I can’t change 
And the time that I borrow can wait till tomorrow…”

PERFECT FAN – Backstreet Boys (for the need to be this mom to my sons)
“You showed me when I was young just how to grow, 
You showed me everything that I should know.
You showed me just how to walk without your hands
Because mom you always were the perfect fan.”

BECAUSE YOU LOVED ME – Celine Dion (for a love I could never replace)
“You were my strength when I was weak, you were my voice when I couldn’t speak
You were my eyes when I couldn’t see, you saw the best there was in me
Lifted me up when I couldn’t reach, you gave me faith because you believed
I’m everything I am because you loved me.”

AMERICAN SATURDAY NIGHT – Brad Paisley (for my all-American life)
“Everywhere has something they’re known for although usually it washes up on our shores…
It’s a French kiss, Italian ice, Spanish moss in the moonlight… 
It’s just another American Saturday night”

THE RIVER – Garth Brooks (for my everyday journey)
“Too many times we stand aside and let the waters slip away 
Until what we put off ’til tomorrow has now become today 
So don’t you sit upon the shoreline and say you’re satisfied 
Choose to chance the rapids and dare to dance the tide.”

CRASH AND BURN – Savage Garden (for friendship)
“When you feel all alone and a loyal friend is hard to find,
You’re caught in a one way street with the monsters in your head
When hopes and dreams are far away and you feel like you can’t face the day;
Let me be the one you call, if you jump I’ll break your fall
Lift you up and fly away with you into the night.
If you need to fall apart I can mend a broken heart
If you need to crash then crash and burn, you’re not alone.”

LEAVE OUT ALL THE REST – Linkin Park (for my hope that I’ll be well remembered)
“When my time comes, forget the wrong that I’ve done
Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed
And don’t resent me and when you’re feeling empty
Keep me in your memory, leave out all the rest”

2 responses to “My Life’s Mix

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mix Tape Masterpiece | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  2. Pingback: My 8 Track | My Days In A Song·

Leave a Reply

