My Rainy Retreat

Daily Prompt: Singin’ in the Rain

Safe inside, toasty warm, while water pitter-patters on the roof… describe your perfect, rainy afternoon.

Image

On this beautiful sunny morning, this post feels rather appropriate, for we just emerged from a bout of rain that certainly seemed never-ending. Thundershowers scattered the weather forecast for New England. I would go to bed to the sound of the rain and wake up to the sound of the rain, pinging the metal casing of the air conditioner perched in our bedroom window.

I enjoy the rain. I don’t enjoy a week’s worth of it hitting us all at one time, but I can appreciate one perfect rainy day at a time. With two young children in the house, it’s hard to ever experience everything that would make any rainy day the best day. My boys are easily bored. This past week they were longingly staring out the window, wondering when they would ever be able to play on the playset that had finally been completed.

If they were both in school all day on a rainy day, though, I would be perfectly content to lose myself in an amazing book. A steaming cup of tea with a dollop of sweet honey, the smell of the book’s pages as I turned them, the soft warmth of my favorite throw blanket. I could get lost in that for an entire day.

Books have always been my escape, but with the stage of life I’m in now, it’s hard to get into a place where I could just read for hours. Occasionally, I do get to have that slice of heaven, though there is still something awesome about a good leap into a big puddle.

Image

3 responses to “My Rainy Retreat

  1. Pingback: daily prompt: singing in the rain – without the singing | memoirs of an unremarkable man·

  2. Pingback: Forever Rain (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat·

  3. Pingback: MESSY SHEETS | hastywords·

Leave a Reply

