Delicious Food

May ended busy. June started busy. The rest of June is insanely busy. With all the projects around the house, school activities and sporting events, I haven’t had a single second to really breathe, let alone write and dapple in photography. I’ve been missing my blogging space, though, so I thought I’d just jump back in again with today’s daily prompt.

If you could get all the nutrition you needed in a day with a pill — no worrying about what to eat, no food preparation — would you do it?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us NOURISHMENT.

Image

I really enjoy the taste of food, so I’m not sure I would ever be fully satisfied with a supplement. The idea sounds convenient, but eating a juicy pear or crunchy apple sounds far more appealing.

Have you ever really paid attention to the time you spend eating? I love family dinners in our home, everyone sitting around the table, sharing stories about their day while we enjoy a delicious plate of food. I love the company of a friend as we chat over a steaming cup of coffee and a sweet bakery treat. And who doesn’t love a good party that lays out quite a tempting buffet?

Have you really honed in on the taste of your food? I enjoy the savory flavor of steak fresh off the grill, with creamy mashed potatoes and fresh green beans. I love an ice cream cone on a hot summer day, the refreshing ice cold melting down and filling my stomach with sweetness. I love spaghetti and meatballs, with mozzarella cheese sprinkled on top and melting down into the hot noodles, a crunchy Caesar salad and toasty garlic bread on the side.

Would I take the pill? Maybe on occasion, but definitely not on a daily basis. I could see the convenience of it enticing me to save time every once in awhile, but I’d miss the experience of eating regularly. Food is just that tasty staple in my life that’s worth every minute of preparation time.

3 responses to “Delicious Food

  1. Pingback: Pills For No Ills | Edward Hotspur·

  2. Eating is at the heart of every social event, celebration and commiseration and mealtimes are rituals in which, as you say is about sharing stories, enjoying flavours, textures, sensations. Thank you for your kind comment at my blog and I look forward to following you on your journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

