Half Full is Fully Better

Daily Prompt: The Glass

Is the glass half-full, or half-empty?

Image

I used to be an extremely negative person. If anything bad was going to happen, I honestly believed that it would happen to me. When bad days came knocking, I would throw up my hands in dramatic anguish and pity the day, wondering ‘Why me?!’

I learned one very important lesson from being a chronic pessimist: Negativity attracts more negativity. Instead of surrounding myself with positive people, who would have been better for me, I craved the company of other pessimistic people. Not only did I have a great desire to surround myself with drama, but I felt compelled to add to it. I complained all the time, even when there wasn’t anything truly worthy of complaint. I also learned that it was easier for a plethora of other negative emotions to follow my pessimism: I was jealous, judgmental, unforgiving, angry and chronically sad. I found it was extremely hard to focus on the goodness of light when I spent so much time living in darkness.

ImageOne day, I woke up and stared at the reflection in the mirror. I decided I didn’t like who I saw and I realized I had a choice to make; I could either continue being the sad excuse of a human I had become or I could change my thinking completely. So I started making changes and I began to see a real difference in my entire outlook on life. I have reversed my attitude so dramatically that it’s now painful being around chronically pessimistic personalities. Is it alright to rant about life or be negative sometimes, to toss out occasional complaints about life’s unfair curve balls? I think so, but I’m living proof that it’s definitely not healthy to wallow in it. I still have complaints, but they are fewer and farther between than they used to be, and they certainly don’t affect my life in quite the same way anymore.

I honestly believe that being more of an optimist has saved my heart and mind from living in a continuous state of depression. Life isn’t perfect by any means, but it is certainly happier even when it seems it shouldn’t be. I can only be grateful for having focused on what’s good and hoping for what’s better.

A positive mind finds a way it can be done; A negative mind looks for all the ways it can’t be done. 
– Napoleon Hill –

Image

4 responses to “Half Full is Fully Better

  1. Congrats on the attitude shift. I was also a chronic complainer way back when, before I started practicing Nichiren Buddhism. It’s so much easier to complain than take responsibility and work up the courage to see the brighter side, but it’s so much better on this side, isn’t it?! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your story!

  2. I applaud you for changing the attitude :). It is healthier and more beautiful to bask in the light rather than sulk in the darkness. Negative energy attracts more negative energy – this truth I learned really late in my life but it was a valuable lesson. I am nor I was a pessimist but there were certain periods in my life when I wallowed in self pity and saw world in bleak colors. I really attracted misfortune. However it is the same with positive energy. Positivity attracts the goodness that is all around us. And although I still happen to have my ups and downs I generally try to see the world as a better place where I belong and am happy.

    • Thank you very much! It was certainly very hard to see myself in that kind of light and I lived in denial for a very long time. Since I’ve become a more positive person, I’ve felt better about everything; all the choices I make, the things I say, the things I do. It was a change for the better, that is for certain. Thanks for stopping by and for sharing your words!

Leave a Reply

