Morning Peace

Daily Prompt: Your Time to Shine

Early bird, or night owl?

Image

I am definitely more of a morning person, but that also depends on how the morning starts. I relish the days when I can sneak out of bed unnoticed, when even the dog merely peers over her paws at me as I tiptoe across the hardwood floor.

IMG_7635I will strategically place my toes on every stair down, attempting to avoid a misplaced step. One creaky groan of ancient wood planks could be the different between a morning of serenity and a morning of chaos.

The stillness of an early dawn, the sound of the coffee brewing in the pot, the warmth of the sunshine coming through a wall of glass; I need my senses to wake up before I can face the possible bedlam that could make up the rest of the day.

IMG_7638

I also enjoy the end of the day, when the children are nestled in their beds and we’ve put on one of our favorite television shows. I love the feeling of finally sitting down to relax after an eventful or productive day. Mornings are still my favorite, though.

For me, starting off on the right foot can set the mood for the entire day so I rely on the time I carve out for myself before our days begin. When the hours start to feel long and things start getting out of control, I return to the calm I experienced in the morning and I try to hold on to it until that chaotic moment settles back into harmony.

4 responses to “Morning Peace

  1. Pingback: Time to Shine: Night | بيسان·

  2. Pingback: Late to bed, early to rise | Stuphblog·

Leave a Reply

