Stand Amazed

Daily Prompt: Earworm

What song is stuck in your head (or on permanent rotation in your CD  or MP3 player) these days? Why does it speak to you?

IMG_8124

One of my favorite Christian bands is 33 Miles. I first heard one of their songs a few years ago, when performed by the band at Discovery Church. Ever since first hearing their music, I have been in love with them. Every one of their songs is an absolute inspiration to me. No matter what I’m going through in life, I can always listen to them and feel like God is speaking through their music to my heart. It’s uplifting and I’ve lost count of how many times their lyrics have saved the day for me.

There is one song in particular called ‘Stand Amazed’ that is truly my favorite. Whether everything is good or the world is falling down around me, I try to listen to it at least a few times a week. It’s easy to do what is right and good when there are people around to see, but doing what is right and good when there is no one around speaks of your true character. These words are good words to live up to, a reminder that God is a constant witness, even when there is no one else around to see what you do.

‘Everything I face, it tries to tear me down…’
This phrase speaks to me the most right now, where I am in my life. The last week has been a true effort, facing obstacles of evil and standing strong against them. I fight the questions in my heart, a battle with an enemy that tries to sway me, imposing my beliefs are worthless and I should give up on my faith. I stand against the opposition every time, only growing stronger every day I don’t back down.
I won’t forget what Your love means to me…You’re always there to light my way

-*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*- -*-

I don’t really know how long forever is
But that’s how long I’m gonna give my life
Everything I face, it tries to tear me down
No I won’t back away from the sacrifice
I won’t forget what Your love means to me
You’re always there to light my way

When all the lights go down and the world is quiet
No one is around
I wanna be the same man that will serve You then
Like I serve You now
That my convictions never change
Oh let my need for You remain
As real as the moment I was saved
So I will always stand amazed

Sometimes my heart desires such selfish things
When the moment comes help me to trust
Something better that You have for me
If I could just hold on to You enough
I won’t forget what Your love means to me
You’re always there to light my way

When all the lights go down and the world is quiet
No one is around
I wanna be the same man that will serve You then
Like I serve You now
That my convictions never change
Oh let my need for You remain
As real as the moment I was saved
So I will always stand amazed

You will be my strength when I am weak
When I wanna give in and not turn the other cheek
Let this be the prayer that I speak
That I speak

When all the lights go down and the world is quiet
No one is around
I wanna be the same man that will serve You then
Like I serve You now
That my convictions never change
Oh let my need for You remain
As real as the moment I was saved
So I will always stand amazed

3 responses to “Stand Amazed

  1. Pingback: Ear Worm | Cheri Speak·

  2. Pingback: My Brain – The Musical | The Jittery Goat·

  3. Pingback: Aural Sex! – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur·

Leave a Reply

