I Blog Because…

Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question

Why do you blog?

IMG_7585

‘Could what I have to say be that entertaining to others, that they would take a break from their busy lives to spend time with my words?’

As a newborn blogger, that was a question I periodically asked myself. In the blogging world, the audience matters. If I didn’t care about my readers, then I would be better off sporting a pen and paper and starting a private journal. I do care about my audience. I use my minutes to think about what I want to say. I spend time fixing run-on sentences, misspelled words, or grammatical errors, because I care how my writing reads for others.

The audience is important, but that isn’t the only reason why I write. I do it because I have to. I get up in the morning and the desire to post something is so strong. Even if I don’t always have an idea for what I want to write, I know that I just have to compose something. That’s why I joined The Daily Post community. It gave just enough inspiration to get my ideas flowing, so I could let go of my inner words on the days when I didn’t even know what those words were.

I started this blog to work on my photography and my writing. Though I am still perfecting those skills, I began to find them  migrating in a highly inspirational direction. I began to write so others could be encouraged, strengthened, motivated…inspired. As a part of a blogging community, I am also held accountable for what I say. I believe it’s important for me to actually live out what I write. If I give advice on how to live a positive life, but then I am a constant pessimist, my words don’t hold any real merit. I am constantly growing as a person, working daily on being a better person today than I was yesterday; I need that accountability.

Most importantly, I write because I want to be remembered. When my time on Earth inevitably comes to an end, I want to know that I left something behind. Within my posts lie my hopes and dreams, my nightmares and fears, my strengths, my weaknesses, my beliefs. All these words will be a legacy of my life. If my family or friends ever need to find me, I will always be here, in this place, speaking these words to their hearts. I write because I want to make a difference. In my dreams, I reach out to the rest of the world, a good beacon of love, hope and comfort to people who I will probably never meet. I don’t know if there are people who need to hear these words, but if there are, I write for them. Perhaps, that also, will be my legacy; that through my words, I can help, maybe even save, someone else. Even if it was only one person, even if they were only a stranger, every person matters and that will always be enough of a reason for me.

14 responses to “I Blog Because…

  1. ” I get up in the morning and the desire to post something is so strong. Even if I don’t always have an idea for what I want to write, I know that I just have to compose something.” I know this feeling, though I fight it because I need to go to work and I know it’ll take me between 1.5 to 2 hours for a text post…3 hours for an image post… but I am with you…oooh plus “Most importantly, I write because I want to be remembered.” You are right on target with this one…my posts right now are of no interest or use to my children, but they’ll grow and they’ll inevitable go through some of the stuff all grown ups do, so I hope they look back at my writing and find some solace knowing their mom lived through it and still smiled at the end of the day… I am so glad i visited your blog today 🙂 read you soon, Alexandra

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Million Dollar Question | Lily Mugford·

  3. This is a terrific, well-written post. Many of it put into words what I myself, could not quite express. Thank you for blogging and being an inspiration.

  4. Pingback: Are You Following Me Or Am I Being Paranoid? | Cheri Speak·

  5. Pingback: Million Dollar Answer | paul scribbles·

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | My Atheist Blog·

  7. Pingback: I Blog So Therefore I Am Or Is It I Am So Therefore I Blog? | The Jittery Goat·

  8. I’m new to blogging, and I had some of the same questions you asked. I’m glad that I have this venue for expression and learning. Keep moving forward!

    • I never thought I would become so involved in blogging but after putting myself out there and really sticking with it, it’s been the thing I just have to do regularly. I’ve even started ‘thinking blog’ on a daily basis. Thank you for your encouragement and good luck with yours!

Leave a Reply

